The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies than on positive developments is harm to the individuals and the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that journalists are delving more into issues and emergencies without writing about positive changes. As a result, society in general and individuals, in particular, are falling victim to this tendency. I completely agree with this view.

There are two main reasons why reports, for the time being, are full of problems and emergencies. Firstly, news about positive changes such as the change of the kilogram is probably less attention-grabbing for people to some extent. Furthermore, people often pay more attention to the up-to-date information that is close to their lives and the people they care about. For example, a number of my friends have idolized group dances in Korea, so if the events or information are involved in their idols, they would certainly read those articles. Secondly, as people are concerned about this news, journalists have to write more to attract people’s concern to maximize their profits. As a consequence, this tendency is continuing to exist.

This tendency is harmful to society and individuals for sure. In terms of individual, many people, especially the young, lack the knowledge of developments in the world. The information would probably be useful to their careers, their future so if they do not arm this knowledge, they would have a hard time meeting employers’ demands. In terms of society, general knowledge would be affected. If governments do not adopt the policies that solve this problem, a lack of qualified employees would increase and there would be a repercussion in the country’s economy.

In conclusion, I believe that the tendency of journalism has a negative effect on society, especially the young, the future of countries.