Many people think that governments should spend more money on providing faster means of public transport. Some others think that there are important priorities (eg.cost, environment). Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that some people argue for expenditure on improving faster forms of public transport. While the idea is the worthy aim, I believe that governments should focus on other vital aspects.

On the one hand, there are two main reasons why governments should provide their citizens with faster forms of public transport. Firstly, this could help various people, such as commuters, to reduce a waste of time of travelling to work from home and vice versa. As a result, they will have more ample leisure time for their own lives and the productivity will be increased. Secondly, by adopting this method, there will be no situations that people are packed in the cramped and hot buses. They do not have to rush to go to work on time or get up so early to have a seat on a bus. Therefore, they can have more time to prepare themselves before going to work or study or enjoying their breakfast with their families.

On the other hand, I believe that spending money on other spheres is more important. One reason is that there is no undoubtedly that environmental pollution is now a pressing issue. More and more vehicles are produced annually and the exhaust emitted from those vehicles has had a detrimental effect on our atmosphere, especially in cities. As a result, there are more people go down with respiratory diseases and other kinds of cancer. Another reason is that the living cost in the countryside is increasing, much less in big cities. This makes a lot of people harder in meeting basic human needs and if governments have no policy to cope with this situation, there will be a decrease in economic growth.

In conclusion, although improving the speed of public transports is advantageous to some extent, it seems to me that it is better for governments to spend their budget on urgent issues such as environment and living cost.