As major cities in the world are growing today so do their problems What are problems for young people who are living in the cities as the result of continued growth How problems might be solved

The higher demand of people, the more the world develops. It seems to be a widespread concern on these days that growing metropolises are accompanied by some problems, which incidentally leads to obstacles for youngsters living in urban areas. There are several problems related to this trend. However, solutions can be taken to mitigate those potential issues.

There are a number of problems related to this trend. The main issue is the higher unemployment rates. This is caused by the immigration of young people from rural areas to urban areas. As those labourers are amateur, to get a well-paid job is hard for them due to their lack of skills and experience. Hence, many of them are unemployed. According to a recent research, in 2018, the proportion of unemployed youngsters in Vietnam accounted for 49,4 percent of the total number of the unemployed. Another dilemma is that people are at a higher risk of mental problems. Living in a competitive world, they have to spend most of their time working to deal with high living costs, which can cause anxiety and spiritual illnesses.

However, there are several actions that could be taken to solve the problem. Firstly, what the government should do is to provide education and vocational training for young people so as they are well-equipped with knowledge and skills to get a suitable job and earn a stable income. Secondly, by raising awareness of a work-life balanced routine among young people, they will be willing to take part in other entertaining activities besides working and focus more on a balanced lifestyle, which is an ideal way to relieve stress and pressure. Thirdly, discussions on budgeting and stress management should be organized regularly that youngsters know how to manage their life financially and mentally.

In conclusion, the continued growth of big cities are causing problems for their citizens including unemployment and mental illnesses. However, diverse measures can be enforced to tackle the problems that are certain to arise.