In many parts of the world, children and teenagers are committing more crimes. Why is this case happening? How should children or teenagers be punished?

Today, youth crime is rife. It seems to be a widespread concern on these days that more crimes are being committed by kids and juveniles in many regions. There are several reasons related to this trend. However, solutions can be taken to mitigate those potential problems. This essay will analyze both causes and solutions for this issue.

There are a number of reasons for this trend. The main cause is the lack of parental guidance. As many parents are busy with their work schedules, they don't have much time for their children. Without parental care and monitoring, teenagers who have low awareness are likely to be affected by bad influences. This is why many of them are engaged in criminal activities such as shoplifting or drug abuse. Another cause for this dilemma is the heavy exposure to violence. Modern technology allow them to get access to the endless websites of various topics, many of which may contain violent videos. Hence, the inappropriate contents may cause youngsters to imitate and develop immorality.

However, there are several actions that could be taken to solve the problem. Firstly, what the government should do is to send the crimes who commit minor offences to reform schools where they are taught about the seriousness of illegal activities. Secondly, stricter punishments should be imposed on people who commit serious crimes such as robbery or violent attacks, such as giving them longer prison sentences. This can prevent them from re-offending after being released. Furthermore, violent contents should be limited to adults who are 18 or older.

In conclusion, the lack of education from families and exposure to violence are responsible for the increase in the number of juvenile crimes. However, diverse measures can be enforced to tackle the problems that are certain to arise.