Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime.

It is true that many people have improved to be good citizens after a period in prison. It is believed that they are perfect for giving examples of the risk of committing illegal acts to young people. I completely agree with this point of view. The following essay will discuss in details about it.

It is obvious that young people are more likely to listen to a person who has real-life experience. Not only do ex-prisoners have knowledge about the prison life but they can also tell teenagers how they got involved in crime, which can help youngsters avoid offending. Having experienced the harsh prison conditions, different prisoners know how offenders are really treated during their time in prison so they can explain in a better and deeper way the consequences of committing. Obviously, such stories would help prevent teenagers from engaging in illegal acts.

On the other hand, there are alternative ways to educate young people the serious effects of crime. Nevertheless, those measures are less effective. Although teenagers can learn about the dangers of a criminal life by watching movies about crime and punishment, these kinds of videos seem to be entertaining rather than educating. To make teachers and police responsible for educating students is another possible way. However, youngsters are hardly responsive to a person of authority who do not have real-life experience.

In conclusion, I would argue that reformed prisoners are completely suitable for giving advise for the young since they have real-life experience which is not available in alternative ways of educating. Their stories, which are real and persuasive, can be valuable lessons for teenagers.