Many animal species are becoming extinct due to human activities on land and in the sea. What are the reasons and solutions?

An increasing number of wild animals are put on the brink of extinction because of human actions on land and at sea. This essay discusses the possible reasons for this and steps that can be taken to tackle the problem.

To begin with, there are several reasons why wildlife is now more vulnerable than ever. The obvious reason is that because of the increasing population many forests are destroyed to make room for the expansion of residential areas and industrial areas. Therefore, it reduces a considerable number of wild animals because they lose their source of food and place to live. Furthermore, with increasing living standards, the demand for food and other materials for individuals is becoming rise rapidly. As a result, to meet people’s needs, many suppliers have used different risky ways to hunt wild animals such as electronic injection and guns. This led to the status of excessive chasing for both land species and marine species.

In addition, water pollution is also one of the most common causes leading to the decrease in marine creatures. The phenomenon of oceans is dump yards for all the plastic, chemical wastes from industries are quite familiar, which has endangered various sea organisms to the verge of extinction on global. Many tourists ruin the beautiful landscape and harm other sea organisms with their litter. For instance, whales are at risk of extinction, as their reproduction is affected by the radioactive materials dumped into the Pacific ocean.

To address these pressing problems, there are some solutions the government should consider thoroughly. Firstly, to prevent the overhunting situation, the authorities should build more national parks to provide shelter for animals to live and protect them from extinction. Secondly, stricter penalties should be imposed by the authorities in order to limit the contamination caused by industrial enterprises. Another effective approach is that enhance positive messages through posters and articles so as to raise people's awareness. As a result, they will have a fully cognition of the urgent issue and have responsibility for discouraging trading animals activities. For example, rhinos are mostly killed for its horn to make home decoration furniture, especially in Thailand. Therefore, people should boycott this item which will result in no need of poaching.

To summarize, natural habitat losses and illegal wildlife hunting and trafficking are the two main drivers of animal extinction. To tackle this issue, governments must protect and restore the natural ecosystems, and everyone should join hands to stop the illegal trade of endangered species.