Many children are encouraged by their parents to get a part-time job in their free time. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message? State your opinion.

There is an opinion that working experience for children is essential from parents’ point of view. To certain extent it is true: it will give children the possibility to develop their responsibility and discipline, as well as give them extra money for their expenses. However, it is essential to identify, which jobs are safe for children and from which age it is okay for youngsters to work.

The development of specific characteristics and the rightful usage of earnings could be beneficial for children. All of these could make children empowered and more motivated. For instance, during summer and winter breaks within the period of middle school I was given the opportunity from my father to sell milk in neighborhood. This job motivated me to be more active in my life and helped me to understand the simple notion of budget allocation.

Nevertheless, not all jobs are suitable for children and it is important to understand from what age children could work. There a lot of cases in developing countries when parents encourage children to work from young age and help to sustain their household. This kind of pattern could be hazardous for well-being of those children as parents in some cases do not take into account the influence of children’s colleagues. For instance, it is very easy for adults to give working children not the safest part of the job, as well as deceive them with paycheck due to the absence of knowledge about wage levels.

To conclude, working children is very delicate matter in nowadays and parents should be ready to face difficulties from various sources. Responsible and disciplined children with their own budget could be more successful in life in comparison with others. However, not all jobs could be done by children and parents should carefully choose at what age their children could work.