Many students start looking for jobs as soon as they graduate.

Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantage?

Many people choose to commence their job search right after the graduation. This essay will argue that the advantages of this outweigh the drawbacks. This essay will first demonstrate that the earlier someone starts to look for an employment, the more likely they are to land in a desired role and to achieve sufficient level of income, followed by an analysis of how the primary disadvantage, namely skipping the opportunity to take a break, is not valid.

The main reason to embark on a job hunt right after finishing the university is that such a strategy gives more time for trials and errors. That is to say that these students will have far more interviews, or maybe even internships, which are as important as good education. For example, in investment banking postgraduates with an apprenticeship experience in the industry are allowed to skip the first round of interviews. Another crucial thing to consider is seasonality of the job market, very conveniently coinciding with the end of the university term, as some employees prefer to switch places during the summer period. In other words, when candidates approach future employers who are in need to replace certain roles, they might be able to secure better remuneration packages. According to the recent UK Government poll, compensation offers made in July were 5% higher than in December.

Those opposed to this say that jumping straight into the adult life leads to impulsive choices, subsequently lowering job satisfaction on a longer horizon. However, there is actually no evidence to support this view and early career starters seem to be equally content to those who delayed the decision. It is well known that Steve Job’s work on Ipone kicked off during the higher education term, and there is no better testament to his professional fulfilment than the success of the Apple franchise.

On balance, the fact that timed transition from education into profession leads to attractive positions and higher salaries clearly outweighs the flawed argument that the absence of summer holiday is detrimental to choosing mindfully.