Many children nowadays are spending more and more time inside rather than outside. Is this a positive or negative trend? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your knowledge or experience.

In the current vogue, the majority of children prefer to stay indoors instead of going outdoor. This is a negative development as they are less likely to be sociable and healthy in the future.

The major downside of spending more time at home is less sociable which means children are more likely to become introverted and isolated as they would forget interpersonal skills that are required to interact with society. This may be because no one can teach these skills at home, which only can be grabbed by meeting with people. For example, oxford university has proved children who spend more time inside are not able to communicate with other members of society and feel hesitant. Therefore, this example proves that spending more time at home has affected their life negatively.

The second concern is that this trend also leads to an unhealthy lifestyle. This is because children may not have more options to play at home, ultimately, they will tend to spend more time on mobile phones or computers by sitting in one place. This would result in obesity. For example, in London most children who stayed at home rather than going outside become overweighted. Otherwise, if they spend more time outside playing with other friends, they may never face such an issue. Thus, this trend leads to negative development.

In conclusion, the majority of children have to suffer from heath hassles and they will tend to be less sociable if they spend more time at home because there are limited options for them to do.