Many children these days have an unhealthy lifestyle. Both schools and parents are responsible for solving this problem. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

it is true that nowadays, teenagers’ ways of life are becoming more and more unwholesome. Many people believe that schools and parents must take full responsibility for dealing with this matter, and I totally agree with their point of view.

there are a variety of reasons why teachers are liable for children’s mistakes. it is highly likely that they have not fulfilled their obligations to form children’s active lifestyle. One reason is that teachers set too much homework for their students, making them have little time for recreation and playing sports. this leads to the fact that they tend to stay up late or wake up early in the morning to finish their exercises. therefore, youngsters may feel exhausted physically and trigger the onset of depression. it is within the bounds of possibility that children severely suffer from neurological diseases. Moreover, students have limited knowledge about the importance of healthy lifestyles and the consequences of bad habits, as they are not usually mentioned in the school environment. For instance, young people may get involved in alcohol, smoking or even violence. these unhealthy patterns gradually exert a devastating influence on children’s thinking, but they can hardly realise these negative impacts.

Apart from the effects expressed above, I assume that parents also have to be culpable for their children’s ways of life. Firstly, parents, these days concentrate predominantly on earning a living without taking notice of their kids and spending time with them. children might feel lonely, thereby easily accustom them to play meaningless computer games or to listen to debased music, or to watch violent and immoral films and TV shows on the Internet. Those habits would be prone to affect their behaviours inappropriately. A particular example is that they may be physically violent towards people around them. Besides, allowing children to overuse computers and smartphones may also get them with the risk of suffering from myopia and other eye disorders. Secondly, parents now let their kids have an enormous amount of fast food or junk food on a daily basis. these kinds of food contain a number of compounds such as preservatives, cholesterol, and food additives that may be harmful to children’s body. Eating these foods too much is the primary factor for children to suffer from heart diseases.

In conclusion, I agree that teachers and parents are the main reasons for their children’s unsound styles of living. therefore, there is no doubt that the schools and families should be in charge of finding a way to improve this undesirable situation.