In many cities, there is little control on the design and construction of new homes and office buildings, and people can build houses in their own style. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a situation?

People have different views about whether residential buildings and official blocks should be built under certain regulations. From the point where I stand, while these constructions can satisfy the demand of many individuals and companies, I tend to feel the negatives of this outweigh its positives in many ways.

To most cities, buildings are an integral part of the cityscape. With few controls, designers and architectures will be given more freedom to create stylish buildings creatively, and these works are more likely to account for the landmarks or tourist attractions in each city and attracted millions of people to visit every year, which also bring considerable revenue to the city along with the tourists. For example, the unique Hui-style architecture in my hometown, featuring white walls, black tiles and exquisite carvings, has made Anhui a popular place to visit. As a result, it also boosts the city’s tourism economy. By contrast, if all houses have to be built following the same style, it would be a little boring, which will contribute less to the cityscape, let alone the money from visitors.

Apart from the aforementioned benefits are the massive drawbacks the construction may cause to both the city and its citizens. Firstly, less regulation can compromise safety. If the authorities do not tend to supervise the building process, there can be houses with poor constructions which are not safe enough for people to live in. Secondly, many buildings with bizarre exteriors will make the locals feel uncomfortable and furthermore, they are likely to ruin the overall layout of the area. Finally, the government will find it difficult to conduct standardized maintenance work because each property has a different style, and to make it happen takes a lot of work and money.

In conclusion, although there are clear advantages of fewer controls for accommodations and architectures, it is necessary for authorities to regulate the standard of each construction.