In many cities, there is little control on the design and construction of new houses. Some people think that people can choose to build houses in their own styles instead of building them with the same as the old house style in local areas.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued by some that new houses should follow the local style, whereas another argument put forward is that people should be granted the freedom to decide how their new accommodation will be erected.

There are two reasons why houses in an area should demonstrate a consistent style. Firstly, this uniformity can beautify the local landscape, a factor contributing to a higher influx of tourists. If most of the building in a certain area are ancient-looking, there is a need to construct the remaining few houses to look alike so that the whole neighborhood appears visually aesthetic. Secondly, a fair living condition would be established following the mutual logicality. The neighbors would feel less ashamed of their bungalows if all other building are of a similar design type, otherwise a house owner would refuse to meet and talk to his next-door neighbors daily simply because they live in a five-story mansion.

The diversity brought by the diverse tastes in house styles can have a meaningful role to play , which is the first reason. Buildings reflecting a variety of architectural patterns can be a melting pot which people of various backgrounds live in. The result is a multicultural society, which makes a huge contribution to the cultural diversity and national identity. The second reason is simple as everyone has their own inalienable right and freedom, and it would be against the law simply to restrict people from doing what interests them. Imagine how uncomfortable they would be if living in a house painted in a color they detest, or how dismal it is if they could not be creative in the exterior decoration of their house just because they are told by the authorities not to do so.

In conclusion, both views have their own merits. I think every individual should consider the option of construction styles introduced by the local authorities first. If they think it is hard to accept, then they may have to relocate to other regions to build a house of their own choice.