In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing.

Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Cities can be seen a place of opportunity, so there are more and more people from rural areas who want to go to the big city. In my perspective, this trend could have both positive and negative consequences, I would agree that there are far more benefits.

There are several problems when people live in the rural areas decided to move to cities. Firstly, governments could have more national budget to support for these people. If rural people cannot find a job or the standard of life is poor, it might cause the high crime rate so authorities could have to support financially to curb the problem. Another drawback of this trend is environmental problem. When the population in cities become overcrowded, it would be a burden on habitat and environmental management. Water pollution, air pollution, trash and related issues can be seen when more and more people leave their villages to go to the big cities.

On the other hand, there are various benefits of this trend. It would be a opportunity for cities to develop industry that needs a lot of people and population of the cities cannot afford. For example, when pandemic happens people decided to leave cities and go to their hometown this makes some companies in textile field cannot operate full capacity, therefore affected their production. Furthermore, living and working in big cities help rural people improve their life, in other words, help improving the national economy.

In conclusion, although rural people are moving to cities to make money, and the population in the countryside is decreasing, there are more advantages compared to living in rural areas.