Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

People tend to work for themselves rather than finding a job in a company because of various reasons. While there are several advantages of this choice, people should prepare for drawbacks that may happen.

There are various reasons why people choose to be self-employed. Firstly, they will have more for their families and friends. Some people dicided to quit their high-salary jobs to choose to work for themselves to take care of their children, that is something which a position in a company cannot provide. Secondly, it may have more opportunites to make more money for a person to work independently. When people run their own businesses, the revenue and income from these activities will be higher than a normal job. Finally, people choose to be self-employed can be free to work anywhere they want and it is not depended on the location of a company.

However, there are also disadvantages of this trend, ranging from unstable salary and learning more skills to prone to fail. Choosing to work independently can lead to the financial risks because salary will be affected by a lot of factors. Furthermore, to run a business or work for themselves, people have to learn a lot of knowledge and skills. For example, a person needs to have economic knowledge, management, leadership and a host of other skills to operate a business. Alternatively, choosing to be self-employed will be prone to fail due to the competive world nowadays.

In conclusion, there are various reasons and drawbacks of the trend of working for yourself.