Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

University students have various choices to study both the main subjects and other subjects if they want. Some people want to give all their time for main subjects, some people do not. In my perspective, although there are both positive and negative consequences of these choices, I tend to the idea that students should learn more other subjects.

It is important for students to give their time and attention to studying for a qualification. It is clear that when university students decide to apply for a major, they had an interesting with them and want to delve in this field. For example, students who learn materials science, they certainly keen on metals, polymers, ceramics or nanomaterials. Therefore they will spend all their time for these subjects related to these materials instead of other subjects like art or economic lessons. Moreover, to become an expert in any sectors people have to accumulate knowledge and experience in the subject and time in university is to study this knowledge.

On the other hand, some people believe that specialized knowledge is not enough to be success, and university students should learn about other subjects, particularly economic subjects. I completely agree with the idea. Nowadays experiences or skills in a specific field are enough for finding a job at the basic level. Students should learn more about other skills to adapt to the real working environment because in fact that it will be difficult if someone does not know about that. Elon Musk, for example, he has a technical background but to operate Tesla company, he surely has learned about economy to compete with other companies in this sector.

In conclusion, students should be free to choose subjects they want to learn, but I believe that they should learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects to adapt the real working environment.