In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing.

Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

There is a common problem related to population that every nation must face. In many nations around the world, people living in rural areas are transferring to cities much more than ever before leading to a significant decrease in the population in these regions. Personally, this development negatively impacts people’s lives as it will lead to the demolishing of the economy of scale and badly affect the health of local residents.

First and foremost, decreasing population in the countryside may consequently lead to declining the economic growth of a country. This is because when people move out of these areas, it will decrease the number of labourers that contribute to the economic improvement of the countryside. All factors contribute to the development of a region, from macro factors, such as infrastructures, natural resources, etc., to micro factors, including culture, mankind, etc. will be badly damaged. Take Ho Chi Minh City as an example. A few years ago, seeing that Thu Duc province, a small rural place in Vietnam, witnessed a decrease in its economy due to shortening of residents, the government decided to to combine Thu Duc into Ho Chi Minh City and called it as a small city. This solution may partly help to revise the economic growth of Thu Duc province.

Secondly, this problem can also affect people’s health, in both physical and mental sides. In terms of physical health, as too many people together live in a limited-space place, production and other economic sides have to increase their productivity in order to fully adapt to people’s needs. Consequently, this rise may harm the environment, including boosting pollution, which surely impacts on human physical health. On the side of mental health, overpopulation leads to additional competition in several fields creating considerable problems, such as a rise in unemployment rates, lack of resources, etc. This, unintentionally, affects citizen’s mentality. For instance, when facing a rise in unemployment levels, residents may try to work as hard as possible in order not to get fired. The more they try to advance their capacity, the more ability people get into depression.

In conclusion, I do believe that it will affect negatively a nation when more and more people move to live in the urban areas rather than the rural regions. This change can decrease the economy of scale of a country and diminish resident’s health as well.