In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people.

To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is the fact that people in many nations, currently, are having longer lives compared with previous generations. There are different perspectives about whether ageing population is beneficial to a nation or not. Personally, for any region, the drawbacks of having more older people than younger ones will be far more than the benefits. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of the problem.

On the one hand, some people believe that there are advantages if the community has more people coming from old generation. First and foremost, no one can deny that the more day people live, the more knowledge they gain. It is a good strategy for an organisation to have groups of the elderly who play as senior advisors to help it make decisions. As those people accumulated significant knowledge about the world and they may be the ones who directly witnessed the variation of mankind, such as the development of information technology. Moreover, the elderly can act as grandparents who help parents to take care of the children so that mothers and fathers can spend all their efforts to their work.

On the other hand, I am convinced that the disadvantages of having too much ageing people in a region will outweigh the advantages. Firstly, people who are out of the golden age can be affect by serious dangerous diseases as their health will not be as good as used to be. This may intangibly create financial burden on the government as they have to spend more expenditures on healthcare systems. Sequently, the state have to decrease tax levels and increase pension support for the elderly as they do not have adequate ability to work as strong as the young generations. Secondly, this will also decline the number of labourers in the country as this group of society cannot maintain the productivity of the work as their next generations. Consequently, those countries may face the declined in economic growth.

In conclusion, both groups of discussion do have their reasonable supportive ideas. However, I firmly stand on the side of people who think this development will bring more drawbacks compared with the benefits. This is because, too many people who are in the elder population may unintentionally decrease the economy of scale of a nation and create a burden for the state.