In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing.

Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, rural inhabitants are migrating to urban areas where the most advanced technology makes life easier, resulting in a drop in the countryside's population. From my own perspective, this phenomenon is a positive development because it can improve living standards for the citizens and productivity in today's society.

First and foremost, salaries paid in cities are higher in the countryside. Despite higher expenses, those living in cities will have higher-paid jobs by contrast to those living in rural areas and they can spend their high income on those excellent facilities in cities. Dwellers will have opportunities to experience more entertaining nightlife, better medical centers, and many other places which can fulfill their needs. For instance, a dweller having a serious illness of which treatment is not yet available in the countryside can go to a qualified pharmacy to buy aspirins or get a presciption from a qualified doctor.

In addition, people will have an access to modern technology which will boost their productivity. Robots and machines are powered by energy and operated by human. It can be assumed that their strengths are unlimited comparing to our human beings, thus, they can work for longer time and increase productivity in society. An excellent example of this can be a baker who utilizes the help from machines to mix huge batter of cakes and bake them simultaneously instead of baking a cake one by one.

In conclusion, it is noticeable that the migration of countryside's inhabitants will not only bring lots of benefits to themselves but also be a positive factor contributing to the living standards of their living area.