In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government should have the responsibility. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that states should have the duty about childhood obesity. Personally, I disagree with this opinion.

Limiting childhood obesity is not responsibility of the government but duty of children’s parents. Parents are able to control weight and habits of their children easier than the government. There are several reasons why children are becoming obesity and unhealthy. Firstly, eating much fast foods makes children to become overweight and who leads to multiple health such as cardiopathy or diabetes. Fast foods almost contain high fat. Parents are recommended to cook healthy food for their children and who teach their children how to cook. Secondly, a sedentary lifestyle lead to the childhood obesity. In the modern world, children usually play video game or watch TV instead of being physical activities. This leads to excess calories are not burned. Parents are able to limit the obesity of their children by spending time playing outdoor with their children.

Although limiting childhood obesity is not responsibility of the government but the government may take measures to curb the childhood obesity. Firstly, the government may ban dealer to sell food which contain high fat and high sugar around schools. Secondly, the government may introduce sugar tax to crack down on high sugar levels in soft drinks. This indirectly limits childhood obesity. In addition, the government is able to require schools to organize physical activities for student.

In conclusion, I firmly hold the view that the government do not have responsibility for childhood obesity because this is responsibility of children’s parents.