Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is in this case? Is a positive or negative development?

In today’s society, some recruiters suppose that formal academic diplomas are more important than life experience or good qualities. Reasons for this wary, and this has both negative and positive effects in equal measure.

There are several reasons why some employers favour employees who have formal academic qualifications over those have life experience or personal qualities. Firstly, recruiters think that candidates who have formal academic diplomas are provided in-depth knowledge about their career. For some occupations, employees must be trained for professional skills. For example, a candidate who in order to become a police is trained more specialized skills such as shooting experience at military school. Secondly, this trend helps employers to save their time. Employees who have formal academic qualifications know how to start working while others need training by employers. Employers must spend their time guiding candidates to do not have formal academic diplomas how to work properly.

Personally, I believe that this trend has both benefits and drawbacks. There are several benefits of this trend. Firstly, employers who are able to save time train employees to work. Secondly, employees who have formal academic qualifications are equipped with in-depth knowledge, employees who have formal academic are able to contribute to a company more than others by applying their knowledge. In contrast, there are negatives of this trend. Firstly, some university graduates lack of useful skills such as the communication skill. Then, employees face difficulties when they deal with customers, this leads to consequences like losing customers. Secondly, employees who lack of good personality traits may bring serious consequences to the company. For example, an employee who is dishonest may take bribes.

In conclusion, there are more reasons why some employers favour employees who have formal academic qualifications over those have life experience or personal qualities. Personally, I think that this trend has both benefits and drawbacks.