In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government should have the responsibility. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, obesity has become one of the most serious health problems among people of all ages, especially children. Although there are people who believe that the government should take full responsibility for finding the solutions to this problem, I would argue that parents and schools also play a vital role in dealing with the issue.

On one hand, there are several effective solutions to this problem that the government should consider. First, the government may conduct official conferences and news on the symptoms and effects of obesity to raise public awareness. In this way, people will be encouraged to have an active, healthy diet and lifestyle. Second, advertisements on foods and drinks that contain high levels of sugar and fat should be restricted on TV and other means of mass media. In fact, since 2017, a ban on junk foods and soft drink advertisements before 9 p.m. has come into effect in the UK.

On the other hand, parents and schools are also responsible for maintaining a low level of obesity among their children. One of the main causes that make children overweight and unhealthy is the choice of daily diet by their parents. A healthy nutritional balanced diet is necessary for every child to grow up normally without having any serious diseases. As the lack of physical exercise can also lead to an obese child, an adequate amount of physical education sessions needs to be held weekly by schools for their young students to keep fit and stay healthy.

To conclude, childhood obesity has become a rising issue in modern society, but I strongly believe that it can still be controlled if the government, parents, and schools get together to help our children.