In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government should have the responsibility. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, childhood obesity is a burgeoning issue in various countries, especially in developed ones in which people consume a massive amount of junk food. While I accept that the government should take action on tackling this problem, I believe that families have to share the responsibility.

To begin with, there are some reasons why the government plays an important role in reducing obesity in children. The first one is that children are shapers of a nation’s tomorrow. Their health problems will result in an unhealthy population which increases the burden on the society as a whole and prevents the development of a country. Hence, taking good care of youngsters’ health should be a government priority to guarantee the nation’s future. Additionally, there are some measures that only authorities have power to do. For example, none but the government is able to raise taxes on junk food or impose a ban on it from school menus.

Nevertheless, I maintain that parents have to control their offspring’s weight by some following solutions. Firstly, it is essential for them to educate children about healthy eating habits. To put it simply, families should not allow youngsters to eat out at fast food chains on a regular basis and should encourage them to eat a balanced diet. A diet rich in vitamins, fiber but low in fats can not only help them avoid being overweigth but also build up their immunity. Secondly, taking regular exercise is a fantastic way to burn calories and keep fit. As a matter of fact, many of children today are leading a sedentary lifestyle which makes them more prone to obesity.

In conclusion, I believe that combating obesity in childhood is a mutual duty of both the government and parents.