In many countries, children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility.

Children’s involvement in some sort of paid job has been a highly controversial issue across various countries. I accord with the statement that such an early engagement in job inflicts serious harm on youngsters’ development in certain fashions, yet I cannot deny that they could drive some benefits from early work experience if the work environment is favourable for them and they do it beside their studies.

To commence with, child labour poses a serious threat to some extent, especially in third world countries where children work instead of going to schools. In those countries, many children are forced to undertake gruelling works such as mining, construction, agriculture and fishing to name but a few. Not only they carry out hazardous activities but also work under harsh conditions, like being exposed to poisonous chemicals for example. Consequently, there is a fair chance that children may succumb to deadly diseases as they are susceptible to diseases. Children working in agriculture, for instance, are frequently exposed to pesticides, which results in respiratory problems. Besides, once such poor kids start earning money, chances are they will never return to schools and hence their work experience has little value in their education.

I, however, personally support the notion that children should expose to some job activities, which pave the way for acquiring hands-on experiences to facilitate their personal development. But parents and the government must ensure that the environment in which these kids works are safe and good for them. Practical work experience provides children with a golden opportunity to hone their skills such as teamwork, problem-solving skills, communication skills and so on. A case in point is the recent study which reveals that many employers value soft skills and important social skills more than than the theoretical knowledge of an academic discipline. Besides, these children can also master the skills of financial management, like budgeting, spending, and saving for instance, which will prove to be important for the rest of their life.

To conclude, while in many cases, children are at risk of serious harm from their workplace, I would argue that many activities open up ample opportunity for gaining crucial skills, which give them a competitive advantage. Therefore, children ought to engage in some work in a good working condition that provides them with useful experience.