In many countries the cost of living is rising. What are the effects on individuals and society? What measures can be taken to deal with this problem?

it is true that in many countries around the world, it is becoming more and more difficult for people to make meets end, due to the rise in living cost. While the effects of this problem on individuals and the society are tremendous, I believe there are steps the government could take to tackle this issue.

To begin with, the rise of the living cost can have many effects on individuals and the society, most of which are negative. Firstly, rising in living cost means that many poor people in the countryside will have to struggle to pay for their lives. Therefore, they tend to leave their hometown and move to big cities with a hope to have a good job that can help them to make meets end. This will lead to overpopulation in big cities and many related problems such as higher crime rate, pollution and pressures on the public healthcare system. Secondly, in terms of individuals, they are faced with higher prices for their daily necessities such as food and renting bills. This means that if they do not work harder or work overtime to get promotion and increase their income, they would not be able to support themselves and their families. As a consequence, many workers would be under more pressure at work and would have less time for themselves and their families, not to mention recreational activities. In the long run, this may cause many workers to suffer from negative feelings as well as stress-related diseases.

However, there are some viable solutions that the authorities could take to support their citizens. The first one is to put lower tax on basics products that people may use every day such as food and transport. For example, in Vietnam, the tax of food such as rice, meat and vegetables is only 3% to help people in poverty to afford daily meals. Another solution is for the governments to have a long-term economic plan, which will greatly help to increase citizens’ income and living standard and stop living costs from rising.