Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweight the disadvantages?

Nowadays, many experts believe that children should be taught a foreign language when they are still at primary school, rather than at secondary school. It is my opinion that this has more pros than cons.

One the one hand, learning a new language means more tome studying. Many people argue that primary children should have more time to play instead of spending it on language classes. Moreover, a new language can distract other subjects. At the primary age, other subjects, such as maths, mother tongue language, are more important than a foreign language. Learning a new language could be watses of time and could delay the development of children's first language.

On the other hand, it has been proven that the earlier children learn languages, the better they achieve. Children are less self-conscious or shy, so it would be easier and faster to learn a language. They also pick up better pronunciation and accent, which are critical and harder to get when they grow up. Additionally, languages nowadays are as important as maths and other subjects. sooner or later, children should learn a popular second language, such as english or spanish, in order to broaden their opportunities. Moreover, learning languages nowadays doesn't have to be stressful and boring. Children can play, have fun and still learn efficiently due to new learning methods. In this sense, it is obvious that learning a new language at primary school would do wonders for children.