Some people think that computers and the internet are more important for a child's education than going to school. But others believe that schools and teachers are essential for children to learn effectively. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views towards the most effective studying method for nowadays students. While some people believe that computers and the internet are more important than schools in children’s intellectual development, other advocate that going to schools is the most effective learning way, personally, I agree with people who extol the benefits of schools on a child’s education.

On the one hand, it is indisputable that nowadays, it is possible for students to study effectively through computers and the internet, which is an almost unlimited source of information. Students can find websites that provide knowledge in many different school subjects and a clear example for this is Khan academy. Apart from lesson videos made by professional lecturers and well-trained teachers, this website also provides homework and supplementary worksheets that are designed to help students understand the lessons more and practice what they have learned. Therefore, students can study school subjects more effectively than going to school, thanks to computers and the internet.

On the other hand, however, I believe schools and teachers are essential and cannot be replaced by computers or the internet. Firstly, since the internet is a vast source of information, students might get lost and do not know where to start or what is necessary to learn. Therefore, it is the teachers’ job to guide students through their learning process and make sure that they are on the right track. Secondly, going to schools and studying with other students create a competitive learning environment, which plays an extremely important role in fostering the academic performance of children. Lastly, if students only study at home through computers, they would be lack of peer support, which is a clear disadvantage in their intellectual development.

In conclusion, while there are some reasons to believe that computers and the internet are more important than schools in a child’s education, my own view is that schools and teachers are essential for children to learn effectively.