In many countries, fast food is becoming cheaper and more widely available. Do the disadvantages of this outweigh the advantages?

According to recent food and beverage research and surveys, the ready-made food is consumed more increasingly by its low prices and prevalence in our contemporary society. This essay is aimed at weighing the merits and demerits of this issue prior to arriving at a firm conclusion.

There are a number of different drawbacks to be taken into account when it comes to junk food turning into cheaper and more accessible to consumers, regardless of their age, sex and income. To begin with, this actual situation might result in everyone suffering deleterious physical illness including but not limited to from overweight to obesity by reason of the aftermath of deficiency in fiber, vitamin, and mineral, meanwhile convenient food is too rich in fat and energy in comparison with home-made one supplying a normal daily energy demand of each person. By and large, the health quality of fast food followers is exerted adverse impacts on the grounds that they could not adjust their unwholesome eating habits by virtue of having been absorbing much processed food and lacking steady workouts. Also, the fact that people take less time to prepare and cook their meals deserves consideration. They tend to prefer enjoying their mealtime in convenient food stores, namely McDonald’s, KFC, Pizza Hut, and among others, to doing the same at their own homes, with the result that the cozy family meal atmosphere no longer exists and retains in modern and young households in metropolitan areas.

It is likewise worth mentioning several benefits of this issue. Granted that the birth of fast food is an inevitable consequence of industrial society, it is a helpful solution for people being occupied under the pressure of workloads and deadlines to have an acceptable meal to minimize their break time. Another major merit is pre-made food is a considerable supplementary option in food menus along with traditional dishes. Given the fact that white-collar workers are now likely to opt them in checklists for lunch in lieu of home-made food, their meal could be more delicious and fancier than normal ways. What is more, companies doing business convenient food not only pay taxes from their revenue to governments but also create much salaried employment for neighboring residents.

In view of the aforementioned discussion, I take the position that the benefits of this issue far outweigh the drawbacks.