Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many a person holds the opinion that pronging jail sentences is the optimal method to lower the crime rates. Nonetheless, this is contradicted by other people, myself included, who espouse the notion that there are a number of different and replaceable approaches to decline criminal offences. These two opposing perspectives will be clarified below.

On the one hand, there are a number of different explanations to be taken into account as to why it is applicable to lengthen custodial sentences aimed at decreasing crime. For one thing, this might result in citizens incurring severer prison punishment by themselves. By and large, anyone takes illegal behaviors and intentions into consideration on the grounds that they would suffer a loss of freedom and waste a part of their invaluable lifetime in jail. For another, the fact that criminals are facilitated to be conscious of their offences thanks to prison wardens’ support deserves consideration. Prisoners are well re-educated and disciplined in prison terms, with the result that they are expected to turn into moral nationals after being released from prison.

On the other hand, it is my contention that the government could enforce other better substitutes for longer imprisonment sentences to drop criminal prisoners for several reasons.

To begin with, granted that the number of prisons and their facilities in each country is limited, criminals should be charged with other replaceable punishments like community services, suspended sentences along with self-re-education under the strict supervision of local policies and governments, to name but two. Another important factor for this is authorities reinforcing and increasing various methods to ensure security in residential communities. Given the fact that cameras and police spots are set up in every single road and corner, the policemen could track and identify gangsters and hooligans without difficulty.

In conclusion, I take the position that while to some extent it is feasible to apply prolonged prison judgement, there are a variety of other alternative methods to keep crime rates low for the reasons mentioned above.