In many countries, government spent a large amount of money on improving internet access. Why is it happening and do you think it is the most appropriate use of government money?

In this day and age, more and more public attention has been placed on developing internet access speed with a huge amount of local authorities’ money. There are several factors leading to improve the internet and I agree that it is not the most suitable use of government money.

There are several reasons why the government spends a large amount of money in order to enhance the quality of technology. The main reason for this issue is that the internet is a tool for people to entertain and study. In fact, both adults and students can expand their knowledge and relieve stress through watching useful videos on the internet quickly. Pupils can self-study the helpful knowledge online in order not to waste money having extra classes. Adults can have referred to good ideas related to their jobs with modern technology to accomplish their assignments perfectly. Take myself as an example, 2 years ago, I often researched the knowledge in the textbooks through the internet before going to class at school; therefore, I had been praised by my teachers for my improvement in my studies. Another important reason contributing to this phenomenon is that citizens can keep in touch with others. Specifically, they can stay in touch with people living far away from home by using social apps on the internet. Take my sister as an example, she has the best friend who lives far from home, she and her best friend have kept in touch for 6 years through social apps such as zalo or facebook.

I strongly believe that it is not the most appropriate use of government money. Firstly, modern technology is now enough to meet human needs. This is because people can utilize the internet with high speed and they can do everything they want with high precision and fast speed. Take my father as an example, due to the covid 19 pandemic about 1 year ago, my father had to hold important meetings online on electronic devices and he was unlikely to wait a minute because the speed of the internet was extremely fast. Secondly, there is another problem to deal with. To be more specific, we need to have a huge amount of government money to purchase good services and construct hospitals in order to treat diseases. Take my village as an example, there are many people with covid 19 outside community in my village, we need local authorities’ money to build isolation places and hospitals to be able to treat covid 19 and improve human health.

In conclusion, there are two main factors for government to improve internet access, and I trust this is not the most optimal way to spend money.