Many countries import large amounts of food from other parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

Importing food from abroad is a growing tendency among a significant number of nations. While there have been some potential drawbacks, I believe that the benefits are more impressive.

On the one hand, imported food tends to contain more detrimentally artificial preservatives and cause rising competition among domestic and international businesses. First of all, as food importing from a different country takes a much longer amount of time to reach the final destination, numerous toxic ingredients are used to deter them from rotting. As a result, these sources of food are not often fresh and nutrient-dense by the time they appear at convenience stores and supermarkets. Secondly, domestic food brands can suffer from losing their market share due to globally attractive international businesses. For example, Vinamilk, which is a Vietnamese milk brand, has been a strong competitor among cow milk products in China as a rising amount of Chinese parents love this product.

On the other hand, countless nations provide their citizens with diverse food culture concerning the wealth of imported food. People do not need to travel to far-off places to relish food delicacies because numerous national food markets nowadays offer a cross-cultural representation of gastronomy. Therefore, people have a wide range of choices in terms of tasty recipes for all seasons. For example, in Singapore, there has been a growing business trade of millions-of-dollars worth of tropical fruits such as mangoes and watermelons from Vietnam, and various livestock commodities from Australia.

In conclusion, although imported food causes some disadvantages for domestic companies and worrying artificial ingredients. From my perspective, I consider this phenomenon to be a positive development.