In many countries laws are passed by politicians and elected officials. Individual citizens elect their leaders but they do not vote on laws directly.

Law making would be improved if more decisions were made by referendum. In other words, important decisions should be decided by individual voters and not by politicians.

Do you agree or disagree? Support your position and provide examples.

Laws of a country are made for the public to follow and so the individual should get the right to vote for which laws should be placed in their country. I agree that the public should be allowed to vote on the important issues, as when the laws are decided with the help of a vote from the citizen it increases the confidence of the public in their politicians.

The importance given to a citizen in deciding the issues and the laws for a country increases the probability that when these laws are applied the individual would adhere to them instead of feeling that these rules were imposed on them. Passing laws through referendum also increases the confidence and likeability for the politician in the public's view as they feel more involved in making decisions for their country. This motivates the individual to be a more useful citizen and participate in their countries' issues.

Imposing laws forces the individual into following a law they may dislike hence it increases the chances of those laws being broken or the individual finding a way around it. Also, when laws are just passed through the politician's vote they usually do not favour the individual citizen as much as it favours the politician itself. It gives the ruling party an opportunity to place laws that would be beneficial for their political progress instead of thinking what would be advantageous for their citizens and the progress of the country as a whole.

For instance, when a certain political party is currently ruling the country they might change laws in their favour to increase the number of times as to which they can be reelected and become the President or the Prime Minister of the country or increase the duration for which they remain the head of the state. This would be specially disadvantageous for the public and the country if the particular politician is not beneficial for the country's development. As this would force the public to stay under their rule for an extended period despite their dissatisfaction.

Therefore, giving a citizen the power to vote for laws and important issues enhances a country's discipline and progress. Acquiring a vote from the public is similar to taking an informed consent before placing a certain law thereby reducing the probability of the individual going against the law or disapproving it.