In many countries, the level of crime is increasing and crimes are becoming more violent. Why do you think this is and what can be done about it?

It is undeniable that crime rates in many nations are experiencing a rising trend in both quantity and level of violence. There are various factors contributing to this trend and these following solutions can address the issue.

There are several reasons leading to the increasing numbers and intensity of crime cases. First, with the help of the Internet, materials of crime and violence are accessible to all individuals. This is because online content is not censored strictly enough by platform developers, which means anyone can upload their contents including violent ones. For example, there are numerous videos on YouTube, which is the most common video sharing platform, showing viewers the way to break into houses or even to murder. Therefore, viewers, especially teenagers, can learn and be provoked to commit serious crimes. Besides, the increasing rate of unemployment is also a significant reason. For example, the COVID-19 pandemic has adversely affected the global economy, leading to many entrepreneurs getting disbanded. Consequently, many unemployed individuals must commit crimes such as robbing, scamming or even killing to make ends meet. Therefore, crime rate and its level of violence in many countries witness a rising trend.

To tackle this problem, actions should be taken by both platform developers and politicians. Firstly, violent content on the Internet should be filtered more strictly and carefully by developers to minimize the risk of people accessing these contents. As a result, potential criminals are discouraged from committing their crime since they are no longer encouraged to and most of them do not know the way to. Secondly, companies, especially those being on the verge of going bankrupt should receive financial support from the government in order to rebound, reducing the rate of unemployment, which reduces the risk of people committing crime to make a living. As a result, these solutions can help reduce the number of crime cases and their seriousness.

In conclusion, the increasing crime rate and its level of violence in many nations are caused by the increasing rate of unemployment and violent content spread on the Internet. Tackling this issue will require actions from both platform developers and the government.