In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why do people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

Hitherto, in a variety of nations, imported food is more popular with residents than local products. Although the mentioned issue is sensible, there are several methods to motivate national dwellers to buy local food.

Admittedly, there is an existing obsession that foreign food’s quality is significantly higher than local’s. This could be explained that foreign companies have been believed they could provide high-standard products for a long time ago, while local companies have just been developed recently. In addition, imported products are well advertised by various optimal strategies. For example, Oreo producing institution, to lure an enormous number of new consumers, hired an extremely famous girl group - Blackpink - to engage in their commercial advertisement. As a result, it is reasonable that people would rather buy foreign food than local products.

In terms of solutions to encourage people to use local products, the government could raise the imported food taxes and decrease the local’s. This suggested transition could make people concerned about buying food from other resources in lieu of choosing foreign food directly. In addition, the parallel improvement in the quality of national products might be optimal. Vinmart institution, for example, to attract more customers, sells high quality and organic vegetables at an easily affordable price. By doing those simultaneously, perhaps people could be lured to buy local food because they could use high-standard products at a reasonable price.

In conclusion, the understandable reason why people prefer using imported food exists; moreover, some effective solutions to motivate residents to use local food could be suggested and underway.