In many countries nowadays, people still live with their parents after marriage. Do you think this trend has more advantages or disadvantages?

Recently, there has been a tendency wherein people remain residing with their parents after getting married. In my view, although this lifestyle is of benefit to family relationship, such advantages might be outshined by the limitations.

In today’s hectic society, living with parents after marriage is considered, to a great extent, laudable as it substantially contributes to fostering family relationships. A number of surveys carried out has revealed that since most of people’s time is spent for work, they are likely to devote less time for family, hence a gap in kinship and a lack of care towards parents. By leading an extended family, people can take care of their relatives, share domestic happiness and provide mutual help once facing hardships.

Despite the aforementioned strength, it is undeniable that there exist several drawbacks regarding this issue. Firstly, there is a high possibility that the distinctions between lifestyles of the previous generation and that of the younger one would produce a clash, leading to arguments among family members. For example, people from the former generation tend to obtain conservative thoughts whereas the youth are likely to open to modern ones, thereby generating conflicts in lifestyles with stress as well as inconvenience ensuing as a result. Moreover, settling down with parents can make people become reliant on their senior housemates. Not virtually all people are truly spending an independent life even after marriage as they can seek financial support from their parents whenever they need. This might result in people’s not putting much effort into work which may lead them to indulge in society’s vices, such as gambling.

For the foregoing discussions, I would reiterate that residing with parents after marriage, albeit beneficial in improving family relationships, still possesses several demerits which can cause negative impacts on people’s life.