In many countries, old or traditional languages are dying out or being forgotten, especially by younger people. Is this an acceptable development which occurs inevitably, or is it something which we should try to prevent?

Language is considered to be the greatest achievement of human beings throughout history. However, the issue of whether to preserve endangered languages continues to be a controversial topic in many countries around the world. There are valid arguments on both sides, which will be analyzed now.

On the one hand, it can be said that losing a language would indicate that losing the potential of greater diversity in art, music, literature, and oral traditions. Perhaps this is because language is the main part of culture, so, for instance, if the language of an ethnic were to become extinct, its culture and identity of that ethnic would gradually disappear as well. Furthermore, the supporters of preserving rare languages claim that language diversity can lead us to new thoughts and creativity, which are required for problem-solving skills.

The other side of this debate is that preserving isolated languages may simply be unenforceable in practical terms. This is because there are 20 dominant languages out of more than 7,000 languages all around the world are being spoken by people. Therefore, the process of becoming extinct is inescapable for many of them due to the dearth of enthusiasm of new generations to learn their rare mother tongue. Rather, they, for example, tend to learn Persian, which is a national language in Iran, instead of learning Lurish. A second point is that most ethnics are forbidden by law to formally teach their languages to their children. Take the ethnic Kurds in Turkey as an example, clearly makes Kurdish endangered in that area. What is more, thanks to globalization, people tend to communicate with each other with a lingua franca, thus reducing the importance of language diversity.

To conclude, it appears that the aim of reviving languages which are in danger is admirable, but it is unworkable in realistic terms due to globalization and the failure to transfer a language to the next generations.