In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creats problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people.

To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that today, in most of countries people live a longer life. This situation has more drawbacks than positive consequences for governments, such as a lack of productive labor and huge health-related expenditure.

Undoubtedly, having an aging population causes some economic issues. This means while the vast majority of society is retired or close to the retirement age, fewer young people are ready to replace them. In other words, there are not enough employers and employees to fill in various job positions as the major part of society is not productive any more. This situation diminishes the economy of the country, and can even lead to long periods of economic recession. Many companies, for instance, can be closed due to a lack of sufficient labor in countries that are experiencing an aging population.

In addition, the increasing number of elderly charges the authorities with huge amounts of money that should be spent on their health issues. This is because as people get older, they require more health services, such as medication and different aids. So, the government should allocate a significant budget to sanitary problems, instead of investing in developing certain businesses and industries that contribute to progress in economies. To illustrate the point, an aging population needs more equipped hospitals with enough facilities to help the elderly with their physical problems.

In conclusion, although people at older ages have many benefits for both societies and governments, the downsides outweigh the upsides since the country’s industry is endangered, and the states should spend a distinguished amount on health centers and aiding services for the elderly.