In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people.

To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

it is recorded that nowadays many continents have a growing ageing population. A society where there are more elderly citizens than young people can has some negative effects such as lack of workers or pressure on hospitals and doctors when it comes to health problems. On the contrary, the old generations definately have more experience and knowledge than the young ones and they can be benefit by learning from them.

Starting with the disadvantage sides of an ageing population. Firstly, a residents which have more old people than young ones means that it may be lack of employees when it comes to jobs that requires strength rather than experience such as builders or cleaners. A civilian can run successfully and smoothly if there is a cooperation of professors and workers. For example, while architects are able to design buildings or even solve environmental problems, without workers they will not be able to construct buildings. In addition to that, an ageing population means that citizens in that society will undergone many health problems or will take care of their health, eventually lead to the overwhelming of hospitals and doctors will be under a lot of pressure.

On the other hand, elderly people have more knowledge and experience which will benefit for educate the youth. For example, schools and universities can hire experienced professors to teach students. Teachers who live long enough to fully understand life will have a calm manner and right attitude that is a good example for their pupils to look up to, which will make the teaching and learning process more proficent.

To conclude, ageing population may caused some disadvantages such as lacking of appropriate workers for jobs that value strength more than experience or the vast number of old people may contributed to the overwhelming of hospitals. However, the younger generations can learn a lot from the previous generations because they have more experience and knowledge.