In many countries, people are spending more hours at their workplace. Why is that? Is that a negative and positive development?

Working overtime has become popular among employees in many countries recently. The reasons for this tendency are mainly associated with the increased competitiveness and cost of living. I believe that this development imposes negative impacts on employees’ mental and physical health.

There are two primary driving forces behind workaholism. The first one is probably related to the competitive modern society. As many governments have emphasized the crucial role of education, more residents are eligible to receive education, leading to several able and skillful applicants for the same position. Additionally, the introduction of robots and automation has revolutionized many jobs in terms of labor demand. Manufacture perfectly exemplifies this when automation has replaced production workers in many companies. The declining amount of works offered undoubtedly means an increasing level of competitiveness. Another compelling reason is the escalating cost of living. Due to the substantial financial burdens, it becomes an obligation for employees to work overtime for survival and the well-being of their families. A salient example can be observed in many big cities where many low-income individuals struggling to handle their living expenses.

Workaholism has adverse impacts on employee’s health both physically and mentally. Most of the workers who dedicate significant work commitment would sacrifice their healthy eating habits. Takeaway becomes their regular choice instead of home-cooked meals due to the deficiency of time for preparation. These employees also spend insufficient amounts of time exercising to enhance their stamina and resistance. Additionally, depression and pressure are increasingly popular among workaholics. For instance, suicide rates in Korea and Japan are alarmingly high among people stressed with their works. Such a tendency is mainly because they barely have opportunities to pursue their hobbies and spend time releasing stress with their friends and families.

In conclusion, excessive work commitment among employees in many countries is mainly because of the rising living expenses and competitiveness. From my perspective, this trend would lead to catastrophic consequences in worker’s mental and physical health. I would suggest that corporations should incentivize employees to achieve work-life balance for sustainable development.