In many countries, people in big cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, it has become popularly in many countries that people who reside in huge cities tend to live alone or in small household units than in large families which have some generations. I completely agree that this is a positive trend.

The first point I would mention is that living alone or in a small family could occur fewer conflicts than in a large family. This means that there is a gap of living conceptions among people and generations and if living in a small family, people are able to restrict these inconsistencies, which are quite popular in a big family. A typical example is that the divergence between how to raise children of modern parents and traditional grandparents. So, I argue that members in small families would easier to understand and then, feel happier.

The second point I would mention is that it gives the freedom, a pleasant feeling and an independent ability for people who live alone or in small families. Firstly, they would bring the opportunity to live in their own way, such as eating what they prefer, watching T.V programs they favor, and so on. Secondly, they are lived in a more expanse space because they have not to share the space with many others. And finally, instead of relying on relatives, they would learn the independent living way which is very necessary for these days.

In conclusion, with these arguments, I believe that many people in modern cities who are looking for a life with freedom, pleasure, and independence as well through selecting live alone or in small families than in large cities is a good trend.