In many countries, people now wear western clothes such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing.

Why is this the case?

Is this a positive or negative development?

it has become the norm in different countries to see people wearing clothes originating from the West more often than their traditional ones. the main cause behind this trend is convenience and fashion that such modern clothing can offer, and therefore overall, it is a positive development despite certain drawback on one’s national identity.

The requirements of a typical customer are often prioritized in mass-produced Western apparel, such as jeans. In fact, the selected materials are often hard-wearing, a feature highly valued by individuals with hectic lifestyles, and competitively priced due to the employment of low-cost labour. And in combination, such features of western-syle fashion have gained huge popularity among less-developed countries, such South-East Asia as where the local fashion often fail to evolve to be in demand. Furthermore, western media is crucial in the dissemination of their fashion. it is apparent that increased exposure to western entertaiment has led to eagerness among the youth to embrace western-style clothing.

As a result, the popularity of western clothing brands has been an agent for change for the betterment of local fashion brands. Obviously, in order to regain customers, these local businesses have to adjust their design based on customers’ needs, and streamline their manufacturing process to reduce costs. Therefore, were there no competition from foreign products, the local fashion industry would remain stagnant, which was evident in many clothing manufacturers in Vietnam before the opening of economy. However, it should be of note that cultural values embedded in traditional clothes can be lost due to the widespread acceptence of foreign styles occuring in young generations. This could result in local cultural identities being deteriorated to a point where there is a huge loss of cultural diversity.

in conclusion, this western fashion trend is an outgrowth of effective business strategies as well as the spread of social media. However, it is imperative to not only take advantage of such development to foster local companies but also preserve traditional identies entrenced in local clothes.