In many countries, people now wear Western clothes (suits, jeans) rather than traditional clothing.

Why? Is this a positive or negative development?

There is an upward trend in numerous countries that Western-based style of dressing is in vogue while traditional clothes gradually become obsolete among citizens. The reasons for this are varied, and I would argue that both the pros and cons should be discussed.

There are two main factors contributing to the global popularity of suits and jeans. First, since the young generation has great admiration for Western celebrities who are deemed stylish and fashionable, they imitate the dressing style of these stars. It is linked to the fact that when an individual sports like his idol, it may enhance his sense of pride and self-confidence. Apart from that, Western attires are more comfortable than Eastern traditional clothing which is oftentimes considered fairly fussy. Take Ao Dai as a typical example of traditional dresses; despite its aesthetic quality and gorgeous look, the wearers find it difficult to take part in physical activities. Compared to this conventional dress of Vietnam, T-shirts, which are Western-related design, are more likely to create comfort when people get dressed it in.

This phenomenon should be pondered carefully in both advantageous and disadvantageous perspective. On the positive side, modern clothing is able to build up confidence among youths. This may result in them leading a more optimistic lifestyle. However, there may be a potential threat of cultural assimilation as young people possibly forget their nation’s traditional characteristic and hold great appeal for Western-based lifestyle. More severely, some may go against their cultural values due to over-idolizing foreign stars.

In conclusion, appreciation for Western celebrities and the comfort in sporting are two principal precursors for the dominance of Western-based apparel, and mixed outcomes could result from this tendency.