The news media has become too much influence on people lives today and this is a negative development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is generally believed that the news media has a great impact on people’s lives. From my point of view, going too far from its original aim of spreading accurate information to the public, the media has done more harm than good.

In fact, newspapers, television and recently online-based press has gradually played a huge part in social development. Compared with half of a century ago, the contemporary generation is now always kept well-informed of the most up-to-date information in the world thanks to the media’s advances. At any time of day or night, no matter where an individual is, that one is likely access all kinds of information, from a piece of breaking news about the USA presidential election to the chronic famine in Africa. Therefore, it is not an overstatement to say that the media has become our extended eyes and ears to open the community’s horizon.

Unfortunately, the media’s high popularity has recently accompanied many uncontrollable problems to society. Sadly, some journalists supposed to offer the truth are paid a sum under the table to make up stories and feed misleading information to readers. For example, through a photo capturing a celebrity’s party, his or her personal life is liable to be intruded then distorted to constantly immerse themselves in partying or even going wild with drugs. Moreover, the free press today allows information providers to emphasize on negative but sensational news such as crime, tragic accidents or terrorism to reach the highest consumers’ views. As an unexpected result, bad feelings from that kind of biased content might cause great distress to citizens and incite violence.

In conclusion, I must assume that although the news media plays a significant role in people’s minds and lives, it seems to be detrimental to their way of thinking. This trend requires the highest alertness to judge the accuracy of each news they read in their daily newspapers.