Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a

useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games

are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your

opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

Recently, the effects of video games on players have become a controversal topic. while most people consider them a preferrable mean of entertainment, others suggest that they cause adverse impacts on humans. In my opinion, video games tend to be beneficial, although some inappropriate games could lead to negative consequences.

On the one hand, there are some evident advantages that arcade games offer. To start with, in most cases, playing games would be an effective way of entertainment. For instance, when people struggle with their work or study, enjoying triumphs in the virtual world can help to reduce the pressure, enhance their emotions, which remarkably boost people' productivity. Furthermore, currently, game developers are introducing a substantial number of games that serve the educational purposes. people can now easily look for puzzles on the Internet, which develop their problem solving skills, logical reasoning, and sometimes reflex. Many people eventually witness astounding self-improvements after playing puzzle games.

On the other hand, people need to be cautious with the potential detriments brought by video games. First of all, since video games are possibly addictive, people may end up wasting large amounts of time on games. It is becoming common that teenagers spend hours daily to play games, which is an alarming phenomenon. Consequently, their parents have to seek support from schools and social organisations in an attempt to make them quit games. Second of all, video games, are likely to promote the sedentary lifestyle. As people play video games, they would sit still for a long time, resulting in insufficient physical activities, eventually causing diseases such as obesity.

All in all, video games can be a favourable method for people to entertain themselves, and a effortless way of acquiring knowledge and essential skills. Nonetheless, people have to be aware of the possible drawbacks and have great self-control while playing games, otherwise they would suffer the unwanted effects.