In many countries, people now wear western-style dresses such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent decades, the global fashion landscape has witnessed a significant shift towards embracing western-style clothing such as suits and jeans and a gradual detachment from traditional attire. This change can be attributed to the influence of globalization. While many people consider it a positive taste alteration, I contend that it is likely to pose profound negative consequences on cultural aspects.

One of the primary reasons for the growing popularity of western-style clothing might be the influence of globalization. The fact is that interconnectedness among societies leads to not only exchanging ideas and trends but also more enthusiasm to imitate styles that can be a symbol of forward-thinking. In other words, western-style represents openness to global influences and is often associated with progress and modernity. As a result, with the prevalence of western outfits, the fashion market has embraced related products, offering a wide range of choices to customers. This change in global retail chains ,therefore, has the potential to manipulate individuals' style as it projects the viewpoint that you are obsolete unless you choose to have items in trend.

However, the permeation of western-style clothing has both merits and demerits. In terms of advantages, people feel more comfortable in this outfit. Compared to traditional clothes which mostly have several pieces and designed fabrics, it is more suitable for people who are physically active or live in warm places. Besides, traditional clothes are often expensive since the majority of them are hand-made and unique. In contrast, suits and jeans are available at different prices and brands, and customers can manage their budgets for clothing. For example, they have the right to choose from fast fashion brands like ZARA or luxurious designers like Versace.

Despite the positive points of western-style clothing, I believe that the negative aspects of its prevalence are profound and should be taken into account. One of the downsides refers to cultural erosion in the long run. Traditional attire defines the cultural background of a society and is tied with the history of a nation, which represents their beliefs and pride. If people stick to choosing suits and jeans, this cultural heritage would be abolished for the next generations. Preserving a nation's identity, thus, can be facilitated by emphasizing the traditional costume.

In conclusion, the underlying reason for the increasing preference of western-style clothing to traditional outfits can be globalization, perception of modernity, and accessibility. While there are benefits in opting for suits and jeans such as being comfortable and a wide variety in price and brands, I assert that the drawbacks of omitting traditional style can be more serious. Nations are woven with their history, and clothes play a key role in demonstrating their beliefs and identity. I think keeping this heritage alive for our children is a must.