In many countries, plastic containers have become more popular than ever. They are used in many businesses, for example, food and drink industries. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, plastic-based containers have infiltrated a vast array of aspects of daily life, especially the food and soft drink industry. Although this brings certain merits facilitating a high-consumption society, I believe that the adverse impacts of massive plastic usage far surpass the benefits.

On the one hand, the major advantages of plastic containers are its versatility and cost-effectiveness. Firstly, plastic is durable and versatile, meaning that it can be shaped into diverse types of packages and allow the consistency of receptacles. This can be exemplified by the beverage industry which requires a variety of packages such as cup, bottle, and so forth. In this sector, only plastic can meet the enormous demand for drinking vessels. Secondly, plastic containers are highly economical for both manufacturers and consumers since the cost to produce them is relatively low. The prices of products, as a result, become more reasonable.

On the other hand, the use of plastic-based packaging inflicts tremendous damage on the environment and humans’ health. First and foremost, the consumption of plastic considerably increases in lockstep with the exponential extension of non-biodegradable waste, leading to the plastic pollution crisis. Moreover, the overuse of plastic products pose a threat to the marine ecosystem. Indeed, the microscopic particles of plastic debris in the soil can seep into the aquifers and float on the seas. Such elements can be eaten by aquatic animals and then disorder these creatures’ digestive function. Last but not least, burning plastic waste emanates poisonous fumes which lead to air contamination and induce human health implications.

In conclusion, inspite of the flexibility and cost-effectiveness of plastic containers, the downside of this material way outweighs the upsides in that plastic takes a heavy toll on not only the environment but also human beings. Therefore, it is imperative that we seek for better plastic management approaches and more environmentally friendly materials for packaging for the sake of more sustainable development.