In many countries, plastic shopping bags are the main type of rubbish. They cause water and land pollution, so they should be banned. To what extent do you agree?

It is said that the main reason for water and land pollution is the increasing use of plastic shopping bags in many countries. I agree with this point, and I believe that the use of them should be forbidden.

Nowadays we can see that the problem related to environmental pollution is increasing every day as a result of human activities. The best example of these activities is the excessive use of plastic. In modern life, many people have a consumerist lifestyle, and they always tend to buy new things. So, every day we see that many plastic bags are placed out of homes just because people tend to make rooms for their new belongings. Also, many factories pack their products with plastic, and people are forced to buy their heavily packed products. Plastic is something that is produced by toxic materials, and it is not recycled. Plastic also does not decompose in nature. Therefore, it can have some negative impacts on water and land. For example, some people empty their plastic bags into the sea or the environment. Many animals like cats, dogs, birds and even aquatic animals may eat plastic wastes mistakenly as food. Plastic is not digestible, and the material used in the plastic can block the digestive tracts, which can endanger the lives of animals. This situation also can be risky for humans' lives, as all creatures in the world are in one life cycle, and this risk factor can be transferred to them.

Also, leaving plastic bags into nature can reduce the fertility of the soil and lands because they do not break down. The only disposal method for plastic is burning it, which can create other pollutions, such as air contamination. Also, plastic can release some toxic chemicals into the soil. The problem is that these materials can seep into the water sources and pollute them. As a result, it would be better for officials to ban the use and production of plastic and offer some eco-friendly alternatives, for example, fabric or reusable bags. In this way, they can better ensure the survival of animals, the health of people and even the cleanliness of the environment.

In conclusion, in my view, it is clear that the only positive point of plastic bags is that people can carry their purchases easily through them, however, a small piece of plastic can cause many problems, such as air pollution, water contamination and even extinction of animals. We also have to consider that there are other activities which can hurt the environment but the use of plastic is one of the main reasons and the problem related to it is growing. So, the use of plastic is necessary to be prohibited.