In many countries, the proportion of old people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on the society?

In the present age, the number of old people has increased significantly, especially in the last decade. The result is that the demographics change and the population ages. While some people consider that having more old people sounds like a good thing, from my perspective, I believe that elderly may bring negative influences to the society and the people of concern.

On the one hand, some people are of the view that the rise of elders could cause serious problems and I totally agree. In the first place, it can be clearly seen that aging population and more retirement rate might result in labour shortage, as there are less people to do the work. This action could create an economy hole.

In addition to the first idea, it can be hardly denied that when they are more people reach their twilight years, they would have to deal with physical health problems, this means that more medical services and pensions are needed. This action can pose a financial burden for government. Also, the government would have to allocate less money on upgrading other public facilities such as school facilities, road systems to name a few.

On the other hand, there is no denying that people in old age still have an extremely valuable contributions to societies. They can still participate in some jobs that are not physically demanding, for example, coaches or doctors, as they have rich experience in both work and life. Elders also play such a vital role in taking care of grandchildren when their parents are not at home.

In conclusion, it is my firm belief that while the elderly could bring positive influences, a society with the large proportion of them can have serious impact for both the economics and societies.