Many countries spend a lot of money to make bicycles easier.

Why?

Is it the best solution for transport problems?

A large sum of money to ease bicycle usage is invested by many nations. Even though the promotion of cycling is a viable solution to help reduce traffic congestion, it alone is not enough to solve such issues effectively.

The increase of bicycles’ use can alleviate traffic congestion as roads are crowded mainly by private cars. Countries that suffer from this deadlock problem spend lots of money to facilitate the bikers more as such investment implicitly promotes cycling to its citizens. For example, a few major European cities like Amsterdam focus on building the cycling track infrastructure to encourage citizens to do cycling conveniently instead of driving anywhere, resulting in a considerably reduced high level of traffic.

Although these projects significantly reduce traffic problems, bicycle usage alone is not the best solution as most people do not prefer to commute with the bike as their workplaces are located far from their houses. What is the best solution for this? If the governments dream of reducing traffic jams maximally, it will be better to build new transportation systems. For instance, Japan had built several fast trains to tackle traffic jams, and such trains will not add a new crowd to the main road because they are located below the ground.

In conclusion, investing much money in bicycle usage infrastructure may reduce traffic congestion. However, to have a more significant impact, the government needs to improve public transportation, which can be accessible to a larger group of individuals compared to a bicycle.