Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well‐educated today. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Watching television is undeniably one of the most favourite hobbies of children today. I agree that television can never substitute books as a learning tool to a great extent because television is more for entertainment purposes and does not offer time flexibility.

Attaining education requires a great deal of concentration as well as a conducive atmosphere for school-aged children. While reading books, children can study without any noise intervention, leading to a total focus in absorbing the knowledge. However, when kids learn through television, their attention will be on audio-visual demonstration, which is somewhat addictive. if their parents do not look after them, children tend to watch the programs meant for recreation, not for education. A recent study has reported that more than 70% of children go for cartoons remaining absent-minded towards their studies as they are still vulnerable. Therefore, parents’ attention and guidance is prerequisite for them to get focused on education.

What is another disadvantage of tv as a learning tool? although LEDs can make learning a fun activity, such tools do not offer pupils the ability to learn in any place and time at their convenience because they are wired and fixed at certain places. Books, however, are a portable source for education. Such an advantage tends to make study a habit, generating no excuse to be a lazy learner. For instance, if children travel with their parents, they can still learn from books as it is light to carry anywhere. they also don't need to be punctual as books don't have a specific schedule as tv programmes do.

In conclusion, although television is a much more entertaining learning instrument than books, it is not a viable alternative for books as tv is not portable and does not give deeper concentration on the essentials.