In many countries today, people in big cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or a negative trend?

It is strongly argued that nowadays, people in major cities tend to undergohave a changes in the family structures, from multi-generation families to single or nuclear families. In my opinion, I am more convinced that living in such small families bring s us many practical benefits in terms of both mental and economical aspects, as we are now living in a densely-populated area.

The first advantage that needs to be taken into account is that, many big cites usually have limited space, thus resulting inmaking an increase in housing prices as well as rental costs. As a result, people in most urban areas would find it difficult to afford good accommodations for their huge families, whereas there are lots of apartments and modern houses for smaller families, as the prices of these real estates are more lower economica l than those of big houses. Furthermore, city dwellers in nuclear families wouldn’t have to suffer from other financial burdens as much as those living in extended families. For example, if they don’t live with their parents or relatives, their daily costs can be reduced as they only need to take care for their children. Therefore, children in these families would receive a better welfare in both physical and mental nourishments.

Another main cause of this trend is that, the mental well-being of people living in small groups would be improved. Living a single life or being in a nuclear family will help people to avoid conflicts arising from the generation gaps as well as supervisions from older family members. This will not only create a good sense of independence for every individual, but also encourage people with more freedom to express themselves whenever they are at home. People nowadays are having more and more pressures in their workplaces or even in schools;, therefore, they need to have time as well as a comfort zone to take off their amours and to share their vulnerabilities [very unnatural nha!] with other members.

In conclusion, I believe that a shift towards smaller families will bring a great support to the development of the society, as the living standard and mental health of citizens will be enhanced in a positive way.